Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Review'd: Chosen at Nightfall by C.C. Hunter

Book Review: 
Title: Chosen at Nightfall (Shadow Falls #5)
Author: C.C. Hunter
Published on April 23rd by St. Martins Press

Goodreads Summary: 

Kylie Galen's life hasn't been the same since her world was turned upside-down in Born at Midnight, Shadow Falls #1, and now an epic conclusion to her journey—not to mention a tough choice between two guys!—is brewing in Chosen at Nightfall:

When Kylie Galen left Shadow Falls, she thought it was the hardest decision of her life. Heartbroken and separated from everyone she loves, she has to embrace her abilities and what it means to be a chameleon. But as Kylie's journey comes to a close, she must return to the camp that started it all...and she must finally chose between the two boys who love her. The werewolf who broke her heart when he chose his pack over her, and the half-fae who ran from their intense attraction before they ever really had a chance. For Kylie, everything will finally be revealed and nothing will ever be the same.

DeLibrarie Review: 
Sigh. I love this series... I'm sad it's over... BUT guess what?!!? A spin-off series!! Yay! It's supposedly about Dela, which is cool, but I hope that Kylie and Lucas are still very present in this new series. Shadow Falls is just such a breathe of fresh air. It's a good idea, with great characters and it is never boring. I will definitely be picking up any C.C. Hunter book that I can find.

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Teaser Tuesday

It has been a WHILE since I've posted a Teaser Tuesday post. I haven't had internet in my house this school year so I really only get to blog when I have my computer with me around town...which isn't incredibly often as I'm sure you have noticed.

Right now I am reading The Girl with the Iron Touch by Kady Cross. Funny/sad story: I received this in the mail a few days ago from Harlequin teen and it doesn't say anything on the ARC about it being a third book... SO... I started reading it. Today I'm about 100 pages into it and I go to update my goodreads info and that is when I see that it is a part of a series... and it's the end of it... sigh. I can't just stop after reading this much already... So i'll probably finish the third one and then go back and read the first two. Luckily it doesn't really seem like the last one ended on a cliff hanger... :) Check out the giveaway tab for a chance to win an ARC of this book! :)

Anyway... I have two Teasers for you today because I am currently reading two books. (gasp! I know I never am reading more than one at a time!)

The first one is from The Girl with the Iron Touch:


 " If this was a young one, she hoped its mama didn't come looking for it. It thrashed against its prison like a child in the middle of a tantrum, but Griffin's power held fast. He refused to allow Finley to support him, and wavered slightly as he stood on the dock, pale-faced."

" I gulped and nodded. Though I didn't understand Clarence's panic or his secrets, I knew he would tell no one what we'd seen. Yet someone needed to know."

That's all I got for you today folks. 

Review'd: The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

Book Review: 
Title: The Sweetest Dark
Author: Shana Abe
Published on April 2nd, by Bantam

Goodreads Summary: 
For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana AbĂ© brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

DeLibrarie Review: 
Holy monkeys! Now that's a long summary. I liked this book. It was interesting. It didn't really seem like very much happened in this book. It was your typical Book 1. A girl has a special gift meets someone who helps her understand who she really is. It was a unique story told in a cliche way. I did enjoy it though and I'm really interested to see where it goes from here. I'll definitely read the second one, which comes out in a few months.

Monday, May 20, 2013

Review'd: The Elite by Kiera Cass

Book Review:
Title: The Elite (The Selection #2)
Author: Kiera Cass
Published on April 23rd, 2013 by HarperTeen

Goodreads Summary:
The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller The Selection.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

DeLibrarie Review: 
Holy Crap. I don't think I breathed while reading this book. I literally started reading it and didn't stop until I finished the book. It is soooo good you guys!! Cass does an AMAZING job of keeping her readers engaged. There were multiple times when I was SO mad at Maxon that I almost came onto the blog just to change my "Team Maxon" button... and then he would give me a reason not to. It is quite literally an emotional roller coaster. YIKES. I recommend this series to everyone.... all the time. This book in particular... I seriously considered reading it again right after I finished it because I love it so much.


YAY! A giveaway! Harlequin Teen sent me an ARC of The Girl with the Iron Touch by Kady Cross and I think it should belong to one of you! Enter below and I will select a "draw" a winner on the 25th. Super easy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

New and Exciting

I've pretty much been freaking out lately because every time I go into Barnes and Noble there is ANOTHER book that I've been waiting for FOREVER... or so it seems. ;) In the past week or two I've managed to snag a few that I've been SO psyched to read and one that I've needed to buy for a while... I'm sure some of you will agree when I tell you what it is.

First off:

I am in love with the Hex Hall series... so much so that it is the first series that I recommend to those who don't typically read young adult... the "gateway series" if you will. I was sooo sad when the last one was released but after I read it I had this suspicion that there was going to be a spin off series. I was elated when it was officially announced... and even more so when I got it in my hands... this book will get devoured.

:) I bought this book about a week ago and when Nic asked me if I had started it yet... and I replied no... she pretty much just stared at me in shock for a few seconds. I'm sooo excited to read this one... but I've mentioned more than a few times that I have a little problem finishing series'.... I just don't want them to end. :(

The One I should have bought ages ago:

I know, I know... I'm like the last Blogger on earth to buy this book. I've heard nothing but amazing things from all sorts of different types of readers. I also heard that this little novel was being adapted to the big screen... sigh... that means it gets pushed up to the TOP of my TBR list asap. I'll be reading this one soon... and I'm glad that I finally have an excuse to make myself read it.

That's what I've got for you today friends. Check back later... I've got TONS of reviews that I need to start posting. :) 

Book Signing Event: Susan Dennard

Hi guys... Just came out of the rock I've been hiding under for the last month... sorry about that. I would start to blog but alas... something would come up and I would think "I'll finish this later"... as you can see that didn't happen. Sorry... 

I did have a rather eventful day today however. As I have mentioned before I work at the local Barnes and Noble and from time to time we do off location book signing events. Susan Dennard author of Something Strange and Deadly came to our local library today and guess who got to be the Barnes and Noble representative...little old me! :) I was pretty thrilled. 

I'm about 140 pages into Something Strange and Deadly and I really am liking it. Honestly, I didn't know if I would, Zombie books just really aren't my thing, but honestly- it's really good so far. 

I got to meet Susan, and a few local bloggers. I actually even won one of the giveaway books... My original plan was to give it away here... but there was a little girl there who had saved up her birthday money... and I just couldn't resist. I HAD to give her my free copy. I got my copy signed and scored some swag that I will give away in a gift package later this year.

I had a really fun time at the book signing and I'm excited to be able to work the next one in July featuring: Anne Greenwood Brown.

Lots more posts coming super soon so keep a look out and thanks for sticking with me and my living-under-a-rock-ness. :)

Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the Flying Dreams kit by Lorie Davison